A Year to a Beautiful Smile

Hello, everybody! Today I want to tell you about my experience with braces.

I had crooked teeth for as long as I can remember, but this is mostly my fault, because when I was a kid I used to push my teeth with my tongue. I guess out of boredom.. Therefore, I ended up with one tooth way too in-your-face-front and one way behind it. Years passed and another tooth wanted to grow, but didn’t have space because I was too scared of going to the dentist to remove it; also, I wanted to see what happens with it if I don’t remove it…, so it grew in front of it, crooked!
Yay for bored kids.

I was conscious about how my teeth looked but it didn’t bother me that much until last year when I realized I was gonna marry and not have a beautiful smile in pictures (and real life). I then decided to go visit an orthodontist and see if there’s still a chance to get them straight. I was afraid that I grew old and there’s nothing I could do anymore; I was 22 at that time. But the dentist said that there’s no age-limit for getting your teeth straight, and then I happily went for it.

Before having the braces, I had to make sure I had no dental decays. To get to that I had to go through a month of cleaning and one extraction. After that, I was ready for braces!

DSCN1150
You can see here how my teeth were before. Not that bad, but neither good.

The first week was pretty painful, but not unbearable. I didn’t even have to take one pill, so it wasn’t that bad. What I had to do was eating soft food and try not to bite. Anyway I couldn’t bite for a few days.

Then, with every monthly visit at the orthodontist, I experienced some pain for a couple of days. But that was only the first, I don’t know.. 6 months.

The dentist explained to me how they were moving. At first, the in-your-face one went back, so from front to back, and then side-ways. Also, when they had to go to the side it hurt a little bit for a day.

Concerning food and eating, as I said, only the first few days I restrained my eating habits. Then, slowly, I came back to them. Of course, I was careful when I ate something that could break my brackets or that could hurt my “moving” teeth.

It didn’t look that bad, after a while I even forgot about them! But now! I have straight teeth like never before!
POMELO_20150606173255_fast
I’m happy with how my teeth look now. And it’s in time for my weeding! At first, he said that I had to wear it for a year-a year and a half and I was a little concerned with what would I do at my weeding, but in time, because my teeth were responding good, he said that I can wear it only a year.

Now I have to wear something to keep them in place. I have to wear this 3 hours per day and all night long for at least 6 months. It’s not that comfortable, it hurts a little bit, but I’m sure it will pass. Also, it kinda looks like Invisalign.
POMELO_20150609200330_fast

Overall, I don’t regret getting braces, I would do it again, and even at a younger age. Because it’s worth it when you look in the mirror and see your smile!

That’s all, I hope you enjoyed it!

Lots of love,
AR

Leave a Reply

