Givenchy Eclat Matissime Fluid Foundation Review

Hello, darlings! As I promised, I will share with you my thoughts on the Givenchy Eclat Matissime Foundation.
First, technical details: is 52$ at Sephora, it has SPF 20 and is supposed to give a “radiant matte finish”, natural, yet long-lasting results.
Now, my opinion.


It’s expensive, I wouldn’t have bought it if it wasn’t my birthday and I wouldn’t want to spoil myself, but… it’s Givenchy, there’s no surprise.

The packaging is… interesting. I spent a minute to figure it out. At first I liked it, it was quite unique, but with time it started to get clogged, it’s difficult to get the product out now, even if I clean the pump everytime I use it! I don’t like it now, and I’m afraid to try to open the cap… what if I break it…

The coverage is light, very light. I really like the finish on the areas of my face where I have no breakouts, it’s like my skin but better! But on my chin, where I have breakouts, I hate it. It’s like, there’s no coverage at all, it clings to the dry patches and makes them stand up even more.
DSCN0003
If I try to build it up to a medium coverage, I find it looks cakey and settles into the fine lines way faster.
I have combination skin, and after 2-3 hours I need to powder. It doesn’t do it’s “long-lasting” job. Also, even if it’s a light layer, after a while (2-3hours) it starts to look cakey.

It SPF, as I mentioned, so it will show on flash photography, making my face appear ghostly WHITE (as in the picture).
Also, I have the shade 2 Mat Shell, which is too pink for me.

If you have baby smooth skin and don’t mind the price, I say go for it. But if you have the occasional breakouts and if you don’t want to use concealer and powder, try to avoid it. It’s not that good for combination skin, so I don’t know how it will hold up to oily and very oily skin.

Overall, I kinda regret buying it. I like how it looks for a couple of hours and I hate it on my chin. It does feel luxurious, but if you want some coverage, it’s not for you.

I don’t recommend it for a wedding and even less for a bride.

That’s a wrap for my review. I hope you find it useful!
If you liked it, please like it, and! give me some thoughts on the best bridal foundation, please, in a comment down below.
I’ll talk to you soon!
Lots of love,
AR

2 thoughts on “Givenchy Eclat Matissime Fluid Foundation Review

  1. I have the Givenchy Teint Couture foundation and love it! I love the fact that it doesn’t oxidize, takes weird pictures (white cast), has a bit of SPF, longevity (that might just be my Shiseido primer though), and mostly, lightweight feeling. I have a full on review on my blog. I haven’t seen the Matissime foundation in my Sephora (I live in Canada) though. Maybe you can try MUFE Mat Velvet foundation? Or maybe you can try FrankieRose cosmetics. It is only sold online, but you can email them and ask for samples (you pick a shade, then they will send you the shade plus a shade lighter and darker), give them your email address and you are good to go (only US and Canada). I just got mine today and I can’t wait to try it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

